Chicago

Antique Photograph: G.W. Lampkins

I used to have quite a large collection of antique photographs. I’ve let some of them go over the years but have hung onto the ones that really stood out to me. (+ The ones that have inscriptions and dates)

I’ve had this one for a few years now but I’ve never been able to make out his name. I’ve always been blown away that it’s from 1882!!

Chicago

I finally got some help on an awesome Facebook group called What is this? Antique, vintage, and unusual item identification. I love this new group. There are so many neat items and helpful people.

Robinson and Roe -77 Clark St. Chicago
Truly Yours -G.W Lampkins- 10-16-1882

Chicago

Here’s some information I found online about Robinson & Roe Studio  (fl. 1877-1898)

I’d love to be able to find some info on Mr. Lampkins or even be able to send a copy of the image over to anyone looking to put a face to a name in their family tree. (I know I wish I had the same luck on my genealogy journey)

Do you know this man?

Do you collect antique photographs? I’d love for you to share with me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

