Bedroom Makeover for my 11 year old son.

Holy smokes, it’s 2017!! I’ve been working on revamping my oldest son’s room for 4 DAYS!! (he’s 11) I painted a couple of dressers black for him & I made BVB (Black Veil Brides) knobs for them both & made a little desk! Now I just have to find him a little chair to sit at for his art. The dresser that’s attached is for all of his supplies.   (The paintings on the desk are done by him)

I really wish I had of taken before photos of how cramped his room was before this makeover!

It really took a lot of organizing & finding storage solutions. Many things went into totes into the basement & some things were boxed up for donation. He has a LOT of paper because he’s such a creative guy so I dedicated a tote just for his artwork. Some of his favourites were kept out, either on display or in a drawer. Luckily now he has lots of drawers. 3 on the little art dresser and 3 under his bed. It’s been a challenge making this room work since we moved in. It’s very small and he has a lot of things. I think we did a pretty good job.

Other than the wall colour (because we rent) He loves his new (more mature looking) space! ❤

Bedroom Makeover for my 11 year old son.

Here’s the before of this beast of a dresser:


We had this dresser years ago when Nev was just little. Some friends helped me carry it home from the curb. Then when I moved I gave it to them and then recently they were going to throw it in the fire pile so I took it back! So happy it worked out for this makeover. I love literal trash to treasure.
& here’s the little desk I put together:

Bedroom Makeover for my 11 year old son.

For this desk, I took apart an old table in the barn that was destined for the trash & salvaged the legs. Painted them black and drilled them to a couple of slabs of wood.

It’ll need supports but it’s okay for now.

Here’s the before of the little dresser:

And the after:
Bedroom Makeover for my 11 year old son.

The long dresser needed a couple new knobs replaced so I went digging in the hardware drawer looking for something that would work & found these ugly green ones. I was going to paint them, but then when I was washing them, I uncovered some beautiful porcelain knobs. Funnily enough, these are the exact same knobs on a dresser I have upstairs that just so happens to be missing one. Score.

I did end up using these ones to create 4 of these BVB knobs, I printed their logo, cut them into circles and mod podged them on. This way, they are semi-permanent. They won’t come off unintentionally but we could soak and wash them off if needed in the future. (there’s a whole bag full of them so I didn’t feel bad covering up the pretty blue flower) & Luckily the small dresser already had plain white knobs to use.


Bedroom Makeover for my 11 year old son.

My son also got this BVB poster for Christmas so I hung it up and painted a little shelf I had in the barn to match.

Bedroom Makeover for my 11 year old son.

(That beautiful guitar was done by my brother Jake. He’s so talented. ❤ He also did his bed, that I should get a nice photo of)

He’s rockin’ now!

What fun kid projects have you got on the go?

Leave a Reply

