The May House – 1901 Coldwater, MS

Have you ever just seen a house, fallen in love & then had to research all about it? This is the case with this house that I’m about to share with you!

It all started with a Facebook post in a group I follow What is this? Antique, vintage, and unusual item identification. Lauri McCullar posted a photo asking about a very unique piece of furniture. Something about it really drew me in so I got to reading the comments where she had shared photos of a few more equally amazing pieces. We got to chatting and it turned out all of these treasures were being sold with a house that the seller had inherited and would not separate. Lauri told me she was able to go through the house & she was kind enough to share all of the photos she took with me so I could share them here with you.

Of course this led me to hours of online research all about the house and the original owners. It’s funny because I’ve spent YEARS researching my ancestry and turn up with next to nothing but this information all came flooding in.

I hope you have as much fun on this tour as I did. There’s just something about these old forgotten houses that I love. I wish I had all the monies to fix these beauties up to their former glory & set them back out into the world to be loved once again.

Built in 1901, I introduce to you, The May House:

MAY HOUSE

MAY HOUSE

Straight from the listing I found online:

8377 Arkabutla Rd,Coldwater, MS 38618 / 5 beds 2 baths 3,000 sqft

THE “MAY HOUSE”, was built around the turn of the century by Mr and Mrs W W May, a local business leader. This grand home has over 3000 sq ft with impressive hardwood floors with wood inserts, high ceilings, fireplaces, and amazing deep wood trim. Come, see the grand front foyer and stairway. On approximately 3 acres, this is a North Mississippi landmark. It is sold AS IS and will need work to bring it back to its original gradeur.

Here are some google maps results:

The May House The May House The May House

The May House The May House

The May House

The May House

The May House

The May House

The May House

The May House

Some seriously impressive pieces of furniture.

The May House

The May House

The May House

The May House

The May House

What a collection of amazing furniture.

The May House

I just want to clean and polish those gorgeous floor with inlays. The original wood panels are in great shape also!

16176800_10210900858495609_742775902_n

I LOVE this window!

arkabutla-road

Love that old claw foot tub.

This house would be so amazing fixed up. I pray someone buys it and documents its restoration of love.


I decided to put the rest of the photos into a gallery so they could still be enjoyed  but not take up the whole page. ❤

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


RIP Mr. & Mrs. May.

16144478_10209884026831286_1525074313_n

Mr. May Obit

cem46813533_119862678592

MR. W. W. MAY 

President of Board 
ARKABUTLA, MISS. 

The 1930 https://archive.org/stream/sycamore1930unse/sycamore1930unse_djvu.txt
21 thoughts on “The May House – 1901 Coldwater, MS

  1. Gin moore says:

    I don’t remember Mr Bill May. Bhutan I do remember Mrs Wilroy who lived there. Our Mother used to send her fresh vegetables from our garden. My sister, Bee, and I would walk the 2 miles to town to deliver them. ms Wilroy would give us each a Coca-Cola and some of her fresh baked cookies. She made them with a nice cookie press. We thought it was wonderful. I loved Mrs Wilroy. I even was blessed to have spent the night there in an upstairs bedroom after a basketball game. I didn’t have a ride home so she asked me to stay there. It was wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Angela Lacefield says:

    I lived next door to this house for awhile and when I moved i still had to drive by it everyday to get home. I’ve always LOVED this old house. I’ve heard stories that they used it as somewhat of a hospital many years ago. But not sure how true that was. It’s most definitely a beautiful home.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Briar-Rose says:

      Wow. How cool. I wonder now too. I’m trying to remember if anything like that came up in my searches but I don’t think so. It really is beautiful. How lucky that you got to look at it everyday. 😊🌸

      Like

  3. Wendy says:

    I grew up in the tiny town of Arkabutla where this house is. You see here in Mississippi if your town is not big enough your zip code is the next town over. This house is about 15 miles west of the city of Coldwater. Coldwater was the town in the movie O brother where art thou, that was flooded by the Corps of Engineers. The town of Arkabutla was so small we only had 2 stores, a post office and a bank that was in a single wide trailer. I love thos old house and would love to see it brought back to its glory days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Briar-Rose says:

      Thanks so much for sharing, Wendy. I’ve lived in a small town like that too. They’re usually so cute and quaint. I love old houses too and hope to hear someone restores this beauty.

      Like

    • Peggy Carlisle says:

      My uncle Bud Carlisle lived in Arkabutla, and my daddy was from Blue Goose! I had a lot of family on both sides around Coldwater and Arkabutla.

      Like

  4. Michelle says:

    My family lives on Bluff Road. I remember going by this house all the time as a child and adult wishing to see inside. Something about this house always had me in awe. Thank for sharing. At least I was able to see it in pictures.
    Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Briar-Rose says:

      That is so neat, Michelle. ❤️ Thanks for sharing. It was so kind of Lauri to let me share her photos here. I loved seeing it to. And glad you got to see inside. I wish there were photos from when it was occupied too.

      Like

  5. Susan King says:

    Do you know the name of the artist on the portrait? Looks like my son in laws grandfathers style and he did a lot of portraits in that era and area.

    Like

Leave a Reply

