Chalkboard Makeover

I’ve almost donated this chalkboard so many times. I’m happy I hung onto it. It’s served as a fun place to draw for my kids & now it’s quite the dashing entryway piece. It has built-in trays which are perfect not only for the chalk but also keys and change. We can leave each other messages or reminders on it and it has a slot to hold mail. I think I may end up adding a couple hooks to it as well.

Here’s this beast before:

Chalkboard makeover before

& here’s our beautiful toddler drawings:

Chalkboard Makeover - Before.

Aren’t they awesome?! ❤

We still had some of Country Chic Paint’s Lazy Linen left after completing a few projects with it. This paint seriously goes a long way. So I decided this chalkboard would be the perfect Saturday afternoon project!

Of course I had no tape left but made do with a cardstock barrier! ^_^

No Tape? No Problem.

No Tape? No Problem.

Here is my lovely looking chalkboard now:

Chalkboard Makeover - After

This was SUCH an easy project. Country Chic’s paint is so good to work with. It coats so quickly, and dries so quickly. I had the whole thing done, distressed and hanging in no time.

I think Draevyn likes it, though he's probably not too impressed that I erased all of his hard work. Poor kid.

I think Draevyn likes it, though he’s probably not too impressed that I erased all of his hard work. Poor kid.

I even got to practice my chalk writing skills after we were talking about all of the different options here.

I am a child of God - I used a white Chalk Writer for this.

I am a child of God – I used a white Chalk Writer for this. I first drew it on with a chalk pencil because mine doesn’t show up too dark. I used the font Autumn in November as a reference.

It has these beautifully galvanised chalk holding trays built right in. I love this.

Chalkboard Makeover - After

I really didn’t care for this chalkboard AT ALL before its makeover. It’s so very pretty now. ❤

Chalkboard Makeover - After

I even shared a QUICK TIP for easy hanging on our Instagram:

Here's a silly little tip for hanging those annoying things that have two holes to hang. Tape a piece of paper the length of the item, at the very top. Then poke holes where the hangers are. Simply tape it to your wall where you want to hang it and put nails through the holes. Boom. 😊

Here’s a silly little tip for hanging those annoying things that have two holes to hang. Tape a piece of paper the length of the item, at the very top. Then poke holes where the hangers are. Simply tape it to your wall where you want to hang it and put nails through the holes. Boom. 😊

What fun projects are you working on today? 

Leave a Reply

