Mirror Makeover & Distressing the Easy Way

Dated Mirror Transformation + Distressing the Easy Way.

I thought I could make this a two-in-one post about this mirror’s transformation & how I achieved this layered, distressed look so simply. ❤ Seriously. SO simply.

Mirror Makeover & Distressing the Easy Way

We had a few awesome fall colours left from when we won with Country Chic Paint  so I decided to try something a little different with this dated mirror.

Layered Distressed Finish. The Easy Way

Now, I’m not going to tell you a tall tale about how I knew this mirror was going to turn out beautifully, because to be honest… I just did not see this poor thing’s potential. I really truly didn’t care for this mirror and feel so badly about it now, because I really do love the way it turned out. (It had been patiently waiting for some love in the garage for sooooo long.)

Here’s this beauty’s before photo:

This mirror is actually not wood. It’s a molded plastic by Syroco. (This helped me feel a lot less guilty about painting it!)

I started out with a few coats of Country Chic’s Luna. It’s a really neat colour, it looks white but with some soft pale hints of green. (LOVE it) (Disclaimer: these colours were part of their limited edition colours BUT I’m pretty sure for a small fee CCP will custom mix colours for customers. Aren’t they sweet?) ❤

Layered Distressed Finish. The Easy Way

Once the Luna base colour dried, I used some of the gorgeous, deep green ‘Wanderess’ for my next coat. I worked with my Oval Paint Brush, (also from Country Chic Paint) in small sections, being sure to get it into all the details of the mirror. Before it had a chance to dry I wiped some of it away using a damp rag,  leaving behind the dark in the details and a little bit on the surface.) Almost like a glazing technique.) I continued to wipe the edges of the mirror with the damp cloth creating the distressed look. After the Wandress was dry I used some of the deep blue colour, Nightfall and dry-brushed it over the details. This really made the faux wood grain pop. I finished it off with a bit of Pistachio Delight dry-brushed in random sections on top of that.

Layered Distressed Finish. The Easy Way

Layered Distressed Finish. The Easy Way

Getting the distressed look on this was so easy. Usually I’m sanding and making a mess & this damp rag just did all of the work for me. Now, I don’t know if this technique works with all paints and canvases but it certainly worked amazingly on this piece. I’m going to try it again with a few pieces and will report back with the results.

I am lovin’ this transformation!

Country Chic Paint Mirror Makeover

Country Chic Paint Mirror Makeover

Mirror Makeover & Distressing the Easy Way

Country Chic Paint Mirror Makeover

I’ll post this for sale over in our Facebook group shortly. & have finally finished the Jewellery box I was working on last week and will post that as well. ❤

What projects are you working on this week? 

HAPPY PAINTING! ❤

2 thoughts on “Dated Mirror Transformation + Distressing the Easy Way.

Leave a Reply

