Old World Finish Filing Cabinet

I was so excited to share this makeover on Country Chic Paints blog. I managed to score this filing cabinet  at a local thrift shop for only $6.99! It was pretty sad, and pretty broken, the top had cracked (not along the seams) and had fallen completely off. I had to carefully carry it to the check out while holding the whole thing together. Even though it was in rough shape, I knew it was nothing a little wood glue and Country Chic Paint couldn’t fix! I mostly loved the cup pulls and had been looking for a filing cabinet for ages.

I absolutely love this finish! I used a few Country Chic Paint products that I’d never used before and I was so pleased with how easy they were to work with. One of the best things Country Chic Paint offers is their free tutorials on using each of their products. I rewatched a few of their videos before I got to work.

I had an unrealistic fear of using glaze because for some reason I thought it was going to be really hard to work with but Country Chic’s water based glaze in Graphite was a delight! I also tried out their texture powder on this piece and it is AWESOME!

Here’s this sad little filing cabinet’s before photo:

For a look into what I used and how I created this finish you can check out my guest post over on Country Chic Paint’s blog here! ❤

I LOVE how this turned out. I’m so happy to finally have a unique and handy cabinet in my freshly made “organization space” which I’ll be sharing about soon.

I used the same colour and finish on that gather frame as well. It was actually my test subject with the glaze. I couldn’t believe how quick and easy it was to achieve that look. I shared all about it here and also shared a free printable of the gather for you to use at home.

Leave a Reply

